Content on this page requires a newer version of Adobe Flash Player.

Get Adobe Flash player

Baragwi Farmers Co-operative Society Limited is located in Baragwi and Karumandi locations - Gichugu Division in Kirinyaga County, Kenya, East Africa. It is named after the referred Location Baragwi. It borders with Ngariama and Njuki-ini locations to the East, Kabare and Kirima locations to the West; Mt Kenya to the North and Mwea Division to the South.The Society’s head office is situated at Kianyaga market at the end of Kutus/Kianyaga tarmac road.

Locatin of the society

The Society was registered on 26th October 1953 and given the registration Number CS/0398 as a coffee marketing Society with the following objectives:

  1. To promote social economic interests of its members.
  2. To arrange for coffee processing, grading, packing, transporting and marketing for the best price.
  3. Do any other activity deemed necessary for the most profitable disposal for the members, as set out in the Society’s by-laws.

Membership consists of the original members who signed the application for registration and others who were subsequently admitted.  To date the Society has 16,892 registered members. These members are drawn from the 12 wet mills which form the society. These wet mills are:

No Factory
01 Mushagara Wet Mill
02 Kagongo Wet Mill
03 Rwambiti Wet Mill
04 Karumandi Wet Mill
05 Nyanja Wet Mill
06 Kianyaga Wet Mill
07 Guama Wet Mill
08 Gachami Wet Mill
09 Kianjiru Wet Mill
10 Kariru Wet Mill
11 Githiururi Wet Mill
12 Thimu Wet Mill


The society has a workforce of 137 staff members out of which 31 are female and 106 are male.